Season Finale of Voyage Trekkers

Standard

The first season of Voyage Trekkers is now complete.  In a marathon of post-production, with over a 193 green screen composite shots, and four people working on effects alone (and let’s not leave out composer Michael Markowski), the season finale is finally out.

So I used the word “finally” …  I’m writing this just six hours after it’s delayed release.  At the moment it’s 7 am and most of you haven’t seen it yet.  I’m really hoping, for many of you, that it comes as a surprise treat that the “last episode” is effectively SEVEN episodes, being a ‘Choose your own path’ video adventure.  We wanted to end on a big note … I just didn’t grasp how big until we were in the final stretch.

It was supposed to come out on Monday (and it technically did if you live in Hawaii!), but wrangling the all the final details (from sound design to final effects) became a protracted ordeal.  I was aiming for a 10am release, but it turned into 1am the next day … and for pretty much for every moment of that (except for lunch), I was chained to the computer, running on an hour and a half of sleep, fueled by adrenaline and caffeine.  Not that “thrill seeker adrenaline”, it sounds weird when I describe it that way, but there is a force of energy that props you up when you’re working on a project like this.  It happens all the time when I direct.  You keep plugging away like a steam engine, but about a half hour after wrap is called it all nose dives off and your body suddenly remembers it’s mortality.

Special recognition goes to David Stipes as my partner in the sleepless race to the finish line.

What I really like about “Many Paths to Eden” is that is really lets the characters out of the box.  And the box is the short format that the previous episodes have had, and often with a controlling theme or style.  In this one, all the comedy comes out of the character’s personalities and the variations of their unique comedy.

It’s been an exhausting yet truly wonderful experience.  I can’t express how grateful I am for everyone, the actors and the crew, playing along with me and running around in space man outfits with our toy guns.  The fun has been infectious and I think everyone wants to do it again.  I know I sure do.
Here’s the part where I sum the entire season and the show and put some perspective on the journey … but instead I think I’m just going to take a nap.
Leave a Reply

