Billy is coming

Standard

This summer, along with our sci-fi comedy series “Voyage Trekkers”, we’re going to release our 2007 no-budget feature film, “The Constant Epiphanies of Billy The Blood Donor.” We’re going to serialize the film, breaking it up into five to eight minute long installments, so that everyone has a chance to see this fun, quirky little movie.

So what is “Billy the Blood Donor”?  It’s a digital feature film adaptation of my brother’s (Logan Blackwell) stage play of the same title.  The story is an absurdist and dry comedy about a hapless young man, Billy (Daniel Brodie), who like many students at the end of their college career, realizes he’s totally unprepared for the real world.  In a half-hearted quest for adventure, he soon becomes involved with an evil blood donation company and gets entangled in it’s web of diabolical (and often silly) schemes.  Along the way he falls in love with another student, Sherry (Lauren Henschen), who’s secretly addicted to drinking blood.

The project took three years to make, shooting it on scattered weekends from 2005 to 2006, and then over a year and a half to edit.  It’s surprising how long it really took to make, seeing as though it was only about fourteen shooting days (about the same as the new season of “Normally This Weird”).  The project came at a point where I was resurrecting myself as a filmmaker … I was in a major slump, really unsure of if I was on the right path or not, and was just seriously out of practice.

When my first feature, “Forever Midnight” (1998), failed to push me into a film career, I had lost a lot of confidence.  Many years later, “Billy” was all about getting back on the saddle.  I was just tired of not making movies.  I didn’t want to worry about investors, I just wanted to make a movie, so I took out a loan and bought a nice camera … and that’s exactly what we did.  We just made it, and for the fun of it.  This was the beginning of the age of Squishy Studios and this was my return as a filmmaker.

So, look forward to meeting Billy and the strange cast of characters this movie has in store for you.  It’s all part of the upcoming Squishy Studios Network, which I’ll talk more about in the coming weeks!

Leave a Reply

