Normally This Weird – Script Preview

Standard

I thought this might be fun, to give a preview of the upcoming episodes of “Normally This Weird” with two samples from the written screenplays.  In the coming weeks and months expect more news and goodies as we work our way towards making the new episodes!  Yay!

– – – – – – – – – –

 

INT. SIMON’S STUDY – NEWLY WEDS HOUSE – DAY

Swivey plays with Simon’s toys behind him.

SIMON
I thought moving out here and buying a house was enough, but no, now that she’s gotten a taste she’s become an insatiable beast.

SWIVEY
I hear ya.

Simon JUMPS when he hears Swivey.

SIMON
AHHH!  How long have you been there?!

SWIVEY
You were talking to me the whole time?!

SIMON
No, I was talking to …

Simon glances briefly to his plush Karate Dog then back to Swivey.

SIMON (CONT’D)
Never mind. What is it you do exactly?  Do you even have a job?

SWIVEY
Jobs are for suckers.  I make things.  And provide services.

SIMON
Let me guess, your mom sends a check every month.

SWIVEY
So what’s your job, dude?

SIMON
Uh, I’m between employment right now.

SWIVEY
So how do you get by?

SIMON
My wife pays for things.  But just for now!  At least until I sell my novel!

Swivey perks up.

SWIVEY
You wrote a novel?

SIMON
No, not yet.

– – – – – –

 

INT. SMITH HOUSEHOLD – DAY

IVY runs desperately for a door in the house. It magically slams shuts. She turns and races towards different door, but that also closes. She turns towards the unseen threat that approaches her. The lights of the room grow dark and wicked. Howling wind assails her face.

IVY
This isn’t fair Dad!

MANFRED, furious and intimidating, looms before her.

MANFRED
I am not Dad, Daddy-o, or Pops! You will address me as Father, and as long as you live under my protection, in my household, you will obey my will. The very second you turn eighteen years of age you may gallivant off to whatever corner of the earth you choose where you may attend whatever MacDonald restaurant or Britney Spears concert your heart desires. But until then, you shall return to the study and complete Chapter Nine of the Grand Grimoire!

Ivy huffs off screen to the Library.

– – – – – –


 

Leave a Reply

